Kicad library problems

Firmware/software/electronics/mechanics
Post Reply
CliffH
Beginner
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:45 pm

Kicad library problems

Post by CliffH »

Using VM0.5, when I load the Kicad schematic, I get the following error:

The following libraries could not be found:
- power
- device
...
- bitcraze

If I use CvPcb, I get this error:

No PCB footprint libraries are listed in the current footprint library table.

Then:

Some or all of the assigned footprints contain legacy entires. Would you like CvPcb to attempt to convert them to the new footprint library table format?

Yes, just generates more errors about not finding footprint library files such as sockets.mod

I am pulling my hair out. I've tried to find the libraries. Download from Github, upgrade to a more recent version on Kicad. But I'm a Linux newbie, so all have failed me.

Help!
dbrgn
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:42 pm

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by dbrgn »

I'm also having troubles. Is the KiCAD layout project on Github missing the footprints library?

The project contains the following library reference:

Code: Select all

LibDir=../kicad-libs/footprints
That directory doesn't exist though. Therefore pcbnew cannot find the BF090-10-X-B2 footprint.
tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 2339
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by tobias »

We have had many problems with our kicad-libs after KiCad changed how they work with libs and therefore we have not been able to push them. Apparent the footprints are not saved in the cache lib which is why it doesn't work. I have committed a new version with the connector footprint included until we have solved the hole kicad-libs we use. Hopefully it works now!
dbrgn
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:42 pm

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by dbrgn »

I can't quite get it to work yet. Steps I did:

1. Re-checkout the project
2. Load the schema, add the no connect flag to all pins
3. Delete Bitcraze icon to prevent it from showing up in the netlist
4. Do the electrical checks, all pass
5. Load the netlist to check that all parts have a footprint assigned
6. Open PCBNew
7. Read the current netlist

When I do this, I get the following error messages:

Code: Select all

Reading Netlist "/home/danilo/Projects/crazyflie2-exp-template-electronics/ecad/template.net"
Component "P2": Mismatch! module is [connectors:CF2-EXP-SMD-HOLES] and netlist said []
Component "P1": Mismatch! module is [connectors:CF2-EXP-SMD-HOLES] and netlist said []
tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 2339
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by tobias »

I think it is because the footprint information is not assigned in the schematics. If you instead select to read the cmp file (generated with CvPcb) under "Module name source" when doing the netlist import in PCBnew it should work fine.
ozzloy
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:48 pm

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by ozzloy »

me too.

here's what i get when i try to open /home/bitcraze/projects/crazyflie2-exp-template-electronics/ecad/template.pro
i click on eeschema button.

i get the following in a pop-up window:
"The following libraries were not found:
  • special
    wireless
    regulators
    my_power
    power_ic
    usb_ic
    imu_ic
    mcu-st
    connectors
    bc-memory
    xtal
    bitcraze
"

kicad version4.0.4+e1-6308~48~ubuntu14.04.1-stable, release build
this is running from within the virtual machine.
i just updated all projects.
i've also allowed the automatic system software upgrade to run.
tobias
Bitcraze
Posts: 2339
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Kicad library problems

Post by tobias »

I think Kicad is changing their format but there should be cached versions available of the symbols. Does it work if you ignore the warning?
Post Reply